Let us discuss books! Yes, it is my weak spot, yes, I started too late, but hell yes, I love it now. There is a special category of books I like, I read, and I appreciate. It must have something for me. Something I could ponder upon, something I could abide by and something I could share.

I enjoy great writing but more than that I cherish the process, the experiences and the portrayed life. If the author decides to voice their hustles, their shortcomings, creating their own ways of defining success, it is brave and I am an admirer of courage. I bear tremendous respect for people who do not follow the league and tend to be their own wind keepers (pun intended).

 

I am listing five books which would grab your attention, get your life a little on track and make you thank the author for their service. This is not a book review and I will try hard to emphasize on why these books are imperative and not just for leisure.

 

    • Becoming – Michelle Obama (Autobiography)
    • Shoe Dog – Phil Knight (Autobiography)
    • The power of Habit – Charles Duhigg (Self-development)
    • The 5 second rule – Mel Robbins (Self-development)
    • Rich Dad Poor Dad – Robert Kiyosaki (Self-development)

 

Becoming: Michelle Obama, this lady has power and that power does not stems from her stature. In fact, the power lead her to that stature. It comes from her experiences, from her vision, from her efforts and from her ambitions.

“Everything is ordinary until you put that extra effort!”

Not spilling the book for you but rarely you will feel the differences in the struggles of the former first lady and your life. How it is a human trait, of feeling things, and responding to it and how to make the best out of every situation.

 

Shoe dog:

“Commutes and long waits bore me no more.”

Is it weird to say that I enjoy long journeys? If you cannot escape it, better rejoice it. It is the time when my mind is on a roll, I get weird thoughts, I get funny ideas, I daydream, I plan, and if mind is not in a mood for any of this, I read.

The latest incident I recall is of getting stuck in the traffic for hours where I made a job application, I was skeptic about. There is something soothing about rides which lets me hold on to the pros more fiercely than to the cons.

While reading Show Dog during my commute, I was so drowned in the book that at some point I almost felt myself struggling with the author, Phil. The pain was real. I wanted his ventures to blossom so bad. He was fanatic and I was totally shouldering him. Therefore, Nike is amusingly my favorite sports brand and Phil Knight to me is an exceptional entrepreneur.

 

The Power of Habit: As inspiring as this book is; what else is captivating is that it untangles your behavior, your responsiveness, how you can train your mind and accomplish the most difficult tasks, effortlessly. If you want to know what the key to Starbucks unconquered success over decades is, or how the artificial intelligence is not just reciting you but even manipulating you, also for good, give it a try. Although, let me break the bubble for you, the answer to all of these is “Habit” and what it underscores is the bestowed power of our habits!

“To every cue there is a routine and for every routine, you owe yourself a reward, so do yourself a favor and make this happen.”

 

The 5 second rule: Mel with her great pushing capabilities, yes, you heard that right, I wrote pushing, not motivating, not encouraging but pushing skills, is on fire and ready to get you on your toes. You are doing it for your good and you are going to do it now. It is endearing, in my opinion, if someone is going that extra mile to make your life a little more resolute. Remember, you are doing this not for anyone else but for yourself. So better do it now.

“On the count 5-4-3-2-1!”

 

Rich Dad Poor Dad: It is a matter of perspective. And who decides. Well, you decide it for yourself. The book outlines the perspectives of two men and how their experiences and finances influence the life of their future generations. The catch here is that none of the two men were wrong.

“It is a must to learn money. Not just to earn it, but to save it and not just to save it but to invest it and while doing all of this, being confident and secure.”

Knowing your finances is a priority. Bravo, if you are already a financial literate, or if you are on the way. And why not, in case you do not think it is a big deal. Trust me, it is a big deal.

Knowing your supplies and holding yourself accountable for anything small or big might be stressful momentarily but extremely liberating in the long run.

Know your finances, educate yourself. There are innumerable sources of learning:

that intelligent investor, the ambitious friend, or the know it all uncle. Make sure while you learn, do it with an open mind as every piece of advice is pure gold and you are fortunate if you have such people in your circle, like I do! The thing deepens and heightens, lengthens and thickens as you think over it. Put it to its best use.

 

I try to share a piece of my mind with the millennials in my family, but, boy oh boy, nobody listens. They are a hard nut to crack but guess who is not giving up! 😉

 

Do me a favor and recommend me a book which you believe had an impact on you or is serving you in some way. I am so looking forward to it.

3 thoughts on “Let us discuss books!

Leave a comment